Rolling…

It’s been a quite a while since I last blogged.

I haven’t been able to find the words to describe how I’ve been feeling. And I’m completely lost for words when it comes to the amazing vanishing trick currently being performed by local healthcare providers. I’m aware that money is tight at the moment, but ‘bugger me’ (an old and little used Yorkshire saying that isn’t meant to be translated literally).

I’ve had to face the stark realisation that I’m on my own at present, as any help I did have, has up-sticked and properly pissed off (again, not intentionally trying to be crude, just saying it as it is).

Bizarrely, I’m nowhere near as upset by this as you might think.

I’m still pedalling furiously against the tide, and it continues to help.

Riding my bike really, truly helps me get from day to day. It also helps the people that I’ve bullied, persuaded and coerced into taking to the saddle to improve their health. I’ve bought, haggled and scrounged bikes of all shapes and sizes to give to people who wanted to have a go at moving themselves around under pedal power. That in itself makes me feel better. But, without any doubt, it’s my own two-wheeled shenanigans that have kept me going.

Bizarrely, living in a city built on (at least) seven hills, has really helped. The choices for cyclists in Sheffield are stark. You either learn to cycle up hills or you pack it in and go home.

I’m happy to say that I’ve learned to climb, but I haven’t stopped there. I’ve taken on (and licked) every major hill.

Some of them are very hard work and have taken me quite a few attempts to conquer, but I got there in the end and it feels good.

I’ve progressed from riding a beat-up old mountain bike to a shiny new road bike; from struggling to ride a few miles to polishing off a 15 mile, early morning up-hill-and-down-dale ride in less than an hour. Best of all, my post ride recovery time has reduced from several days, to the time it takes to drink a cup of tea.

A couple of years ago, I was told that I had an illness that was described as life-shortening. At the time, it quite literally frightened me shitless.

However, since then, I’ve thought about it and I think that they’re wrong.

Either way, I’m not going without a fight…

2 thoughts on “Rolling…

Leave a Reply

