The dirty weekend

Thursday 17 October 2013
Weather: Sunny and fair
Mood: 7/10

wpid-2563-41.jpg

The Dirty Weekend

Last weekend, I had a dirty weekend.

However, before you all start nudging and winking, I ought come clean (excuse the pun)…

Last weekend, the weather was diabolical. Heavy skies and torrential rain, but this did not deter either me or my son from getting out the cycles and having a spin.

We followed our usual route, along local tracks and trails, but the going was heavy. The mud on the route was particularly claggy and proceeded to attach itself to almost every exposed bit of bicycle, body and clothing that it could find.
At the seven mile mark, we were steaming like a pair of traction engines, but still had go in our legs so we pedalled until the rain had well and truly gotten into our bones.

By the time we had arrived home, we were well-and-truly soaked through, caked in mud and tired, but not not miserable. Anything but.

The ten miles that we cycled were hard going, but even in such attrocious conditions, we had fun.

As we settled ourselves down after warm showers and hot cups of tea, we realised that once more, The Cyclepath to Recovery had weaved it’s magic.

The only downside of the whole weekend is a thouroughly filthy cycle that still needs a clean…

6 thoughts on “The dirty weekend

  1. this makes me want to give cycling a shot! i was debating on trying boxing or some type of outlet that is physical/sports related. on another note this is such a nice post =) im so glad you had a great weekend.
    here’s to a great week as well!
    x0

    • Thank you. When I started, i wasn’t sure that cycling was for me. I started slow, hardly going anywhere other that around the block. Even that started to work. There’s something in the complex tasks of staying balanced, steering, pedalling and keeping yourself safe that appears to give your mind enough to do to stop it worrying about stuff. (There’s probably a much more scientific explanation), but it works. It works well. I only had a very small budget and got myself a quite old, secondhand bike, but it doesn’t seem to matter. I now ride almost everyday, and it definite keeps the black dog at bay better than anything else that I’ve tried.
      Go on. Get on yer bike….

      • That’s wonderful! I’m sure concentrating on cycling puts your mind at ease because of the focus you put into it. Good job and good luck!

  2. Even with the description of cycling in mud, it still made me nostalgic for the days that I used to walk and hike in the desert with my dog. Too many physical problems right now and I can’t have a dog where I live. She was my best walking companion and also kept me safe since a woman walking alone in the desert could be attacked.

    However I do have Ye Olde (25 years) stationary bike which makes a wonderful clothes hanger. Thanks to you I think I will give it a try today. I guess I can close my eyes and imagine the mud!

    Mary 😉

    • Good on you. I know that it doesn’t work for everyone, but it definitely helps some, myself included. Even a gentle pedal to the shops manages to clear some of the ‘baggage of my mind’. Let me know how you get on…

Leave a Reply

